Clarence Gatemouth Brown – The Original Peacock Recordings


In stock

SKU: 01166120392 Categories: , Tags: ,


Release Date: 1990

Label: Rounder Records


Track List

  1. Midnight Hour
  2. Sad Hour
  3. Ain’t That Dandy
  4. That’s Your Daddy Yaddy Yo
  5. Dirty Work At The Crossroads
  6. Hurry Back Good News
  7. Okie Dokie Stomp
  8. Good Looking Woman
  9. Gate’s Salty Blues
  10. Just Before Dawn
  11. Depression Blues
  12. For Now So Long



Only 12 songs long, this collection remains the best place to begin appreciating why so many young Texas blues guitarists fell in love with Gatemouth Brown’s style (until MCA decides to compile the ultimate Brown package, anyway). Listen to the way his blazing axe darts and weaves through trombonist Pluma Davis’ jazzy horn chart on 1954’s “Okie Dokie Stomp,” and/or the stratospheric licks drenching “Dirty Work at the Crossroads.” Brown proves that a violin can adapt marvelously to the blues (in the right hands, anyway) on “Just Before Dawn,” and blows a little atmospheric harp on “Gate’s Salty Blues.”

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required