Earl King – The Singles Collection 1953-62 (2 CD Set)


In stock

SKU: 824046327125 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date:  2018

Label:  Acrobat Music


Track List

Disc 1

1 Have You Gone Crazy? Earl Johnson
2 Beggin’ At Your Mercy Earl Johnson
3 A Mother’s Love Earl King And His Band
4 I’m Your Best Bet Baby Earl King And His Band
5 What Can I Do The Kings
6 Til I Say Well Done The Kings
7 No One But Me Earl King And His Band
8 Eating And Sleeping Earl King And His Band
9 Funny Face Earl King And His Band
10 Sittin’ And Wonderin’ Earl King And His Band
11 Those Lonely, Lonely Nights Earl King
12 Baby, You Can Get Your Gun Earl King
13 My Love Is Strong Earl King
14 Little Girl Earl King
15 It Must Have Been Love Earl King
16 I’ll Take You Back Home Earl King
17 Mother Told Me Not To Go Earl King
18 Is Everything Alright? Earl King
19 Those Lonely, Lonely Feelings Earl King
20 You Can Fly High Earl King
21 I’ll Never Get Tired Earl King

Disc 2

1 Well’o, Well’o, Well’o Baby Earl King
2 Everybody Got To Cry Handsome Earl
3 I Met A Stranger Handsome Earl
4 A Weary Silent Night Earl King
5 Everybody’s Carried Away Earl King
6 Don’t You Know You’re Wrong Earl King
7 Buddy, It’s Time To Go Earl King
8 Darling Honey Angel Child Earl King
9 I Can’t Help Myself Earl King
10 Come On – Parts 1 & 2 Earl King
11 Love Me Now Earl King
12 The Things That I Used To Do Earl King
13 You’re More To Me Than Gold Earl King
14 Come Along With Me Earl King
15 You Better Know Earl King
16 Mama And Papa Earl King
17 Trick Bag Earl King
18 Always A First Time Earl King
19 We Are Just Friends Earl King
20 A Case Of Love Earl King



Blues guitarist, singer and songwriter Earl King, a native of New Orleans, was one of the coterie of influential artists who helped create the distinctive style of R&B which characterised the music of the Crescent City, and which, along with the work of other New Orleans artists like Fats Domino and Allen Toussaint provided one of the musical bedrocks for the soul and R&B boom of the ‘60s. This 41-track 2-CD comprises the A and B sides of just about all of his releases as a solo artist during this first decade of his career, from his debut for the Savoy label in 1953, and including his subsequent releases during this era on the Specialty, Ace, Vin, Rex and Imperial imprints through to 1962, after which there was a hiatus in his recording activities until later in the 60s. It includes his R&B hits “Those Lonely, Lonely Nights” and “Always a First Time”, and his classic and much-covered songs “Come On” and “Trick Bag” – “Come On” was later recorded by Jimi Hendrix on his “Electric Ladyland” album, and other songs of his were covered by the likes of Lee Dorsey, Robert Palmer, The Neville Brothers and Dr. John. This anthology represents a thorough overview of his output during this time, and is a highly entertaining showcase for his distinctive brand of up-front New Orleans R&B.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required