Lil’ Jimmy Reed – Back To Baton Rouge (CD)


In stock


Release Date: 2023

Label: NOLA Blue Records


Track List

  1. Down In Virginia
  2. They Call Me Lil’ Jimmy
  3. Wish You Wouldn’t
  4. Cincinnati’s The Place To Be
  5. Back To Baton Rouge
  6. In The Wee Wee Hours
  7. Engine Light
  8. I’m The Man Down There
  9. A String To Your Heart
  10. Mailbox Blues



  • Lil’ Jimmy Reed – guitar, harmonica, vocals
  • Ben Levin – piano
  • Aaron Levin – 2nd guitar
  • Walter Cash Jr. – bass
  • Ricky Nye – drums
  • Shorty Star – drums



When two-time Blues Music Award nominee and budding music historian Ben Levin (age 23) first contacted Lil’ Jimmy Reed (Leon Atkins, age 84), the two bluesmen, at very different times in their lives and careers, discovered that their musical synergy was effortless. It was soon clear to Levin that producing the capstone album of this treasured icon who epitomizes the Louisiana down-home blues style was an important contribution to recorded blues history. Lil’ Jimmy Reed’s powerful harmonica playing, stinging guitar, and commanding vocals are showcased in a mixture of covers and original songs written by Ben Levin, his father Aron Levin, and Lil’ Jimmy.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required