R.L. Burnside – Sounds Machine Groove (Vinyl LP)


In stock

SKU: 824247022515 Categories: , Tag:


*This is a Vinyl LP*

Release Date:  2011

Label:  Sutro Park


Track List

Side A

A1. Rolling And Tumbling 2:54
A2. Long Haired Doney 3:44
A3. Sitting On Top Of The World 3:50
A4. Begged For A Nickel 4:37
A5. Goin’ Away, Baby 4:12
A6. Sound Machine Groove 3:33

Side B

B1. Jumper Hanging Out On The Line 3:10
B2. Going Down South 3:25
B3. Pretty Woman 2:50
B4. Can’t Let You Go 4:50
B5. Searching For My Baby 6:02
B6. Shake, Little Baby 3:25



Bass – Daniel Burnside (tracks: A1, A3, A5, B2), Joseph Burnside (tracks: B4)
Drums – Calvin Jackson (tracks: A1 to A3, A5 to B5)
Guitar – Daniel Burnside (tracks: A2), Joseph Burnside (tracks: A1, A3, A5), R.L. Burnside (tracks: A2, A4, B1, B3 to B5)
Vocals – R.L. Burnside



Recorded by folklorist David Evans in 1979 and 1980, these are Burnside’s first recordings with electric guitar and also his first with a band. That band was the Sound Machine, a band he literally created himself out of members of his own family, blending raw Mississippi Blues with Soul, Funk, R&B, contemporary beats and other urban flavors to make a marvelous amalgam of his own. Especially notable is a version of “Sitting on Top of the World” with Burnside on slide guitar that, with Jackson’s help, neatly evokes the sound and feel of a fife and drum band. Although Burnside became the darling of the Blues crowd and hailed as something of an overnight success, one listen to this disc tells you he was already forging a new chapter in the Mississippi Blues tradition with these recordings. Well, well, well. 180 gram vinyl.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required