R.L. Burnside – Wish I Was In Heaven Sitting Down


In stock

SKU: 04577803322 Categories: , Tag:


Release Date: 2000

Label: Fat Possum


Track List

  1. Hard Time Killing Floor
  2. Got Messed Up
  3. Miss Maybelle
  4. Wish I Was In Heaven Sitting Down
  5. Too Many Ups
  6. Nothin’ Man
  7. See What My Buddy Done
  8. My Eyes Keep Me In Trouble
  9. Bad Luck City
  10. Chain Of Fools
  11. R.L.’S Story



  • R.L. Burnside – vocals
  • Rick Holmstrom, Smokey Hormel, Kenny Brown – guitar
  • John Porter – bass, guitar, mandolin
  • Antony Genn, Jeff Turmes – bass
  • Steve Mugallian – drums
  • Martin Slattery, Tommy Eyre – organ
  • Andy Kaulkin – piano, organ
  • DJ Pete B, DJ Swamp – scratches



R.L Burnside is the ultimate paradox of blues music–he is the last genuine performer of raw Mississippi hill country sound, as well as the most cutting edge crossover artist the blues has had in the past 30 years. His new record Wish I Was In Heaven Sitting Down proves it. It is the accumulation of 73 years of hard-earned experience and contains some of R.L.’s best singing ever. His voice has gained maturity and depth, while his phrasing is detailed and emotional.

You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required