Meters – Rejuvenation


In stock


Release Date: 1974 / 2000

Label: Reprise / Sundazed


Track List

  1. People Say
  2. Love Is For Me
  3. Just Kissed My Baby
  4. What’cha Say
  5. Jungle Man
  6. Hey Pocky A-Way
  7. It Ain’t No Use
  8. Loving You Is On My Mind
  9. Africa
  10. People Say  ( single version )
  11. Hey Pocky A-Way  ( single version )



  1. Ziggy Modeliste – drums, vocals
  2. Art Neville – keyboards, vocals
  3. Leo Nocentelli – guitar, vocals
  4. George Porter Jr. – bass, vocals
  5. Lowell George – slide guitar on “Just Kissed My Baby”



The title is a tip-off, as is the garish, blaxploitation-chic photo on the cover — Rejuvenation, the Meters’ second album for Reprise, should be seen as a bit of a new beginning for the quintessential New Orleans funk group. It’s not a clean beginning, since they were pointing in this direction on Cabbage Alley, but this is where their glistening, clear production, crisp performances, rock influences, and hard-edged funk coalesce into a sound distinct from their Josie recordings — not better, just different. As such, this is the definitive Reprise album from the Meters, not just because the material is stronger (which admittedly is true), but because the performances are continually inspired and the production is professional but hits at a gut level, resulting in a first-class funk album. [Sundazed’s 2000 reissue contains the single versions of “People Say” and “Hey Pocky-A-Way” as bonus tracks.]


You may also like…

Louisiana Music Factory - Newsletter
Stay up to date with latest news and concert information, latest sale items available only to newsletter subscribers, and more!
* indicates required